Board of Directors

Christopher E. Starr, MD, FACS


Christopher E. Starr, MD, FACS, is an associate professor, director of ophthalmic education and director of the refractive surgery service and former director of the residency and cornea fellowship programs at Weill Cornell Medicine, New York-Presbyterian Hospital in New York City. After graduating from Brown University, he completed medical school with honors at Cornell University Medical College, followed by an ophthalmology residency at Harvard University and a fellowship in cornea, cataract and refractive surgery at Johns Hopkins University where he received a research award. 

As a prolific academician, Dr. Starr has written hundreds of articles, papers and textbook chapters and has travelled the world as an invited lecturer and educator. He was honored as the Teacher of the Year in 2006 at New York University and was a Distinguished Visiting Professor at Georgetown University in 2019. He serves as a Global Ambassador to the Tear Film & Ocular Surface Society (TFOS), was a subcommittee member of the highly influential TFOS Dry Eye Workshop II (DEWS II) and currently is Chair of the Public Awareness Subcommittee of the TFOS Ocular Surface Disease (OSD) Lifestyle Epidemic Workshop. He served several terms on the medical advisory board of the Eyebank for Sight Restoration and served a term as the Manhattan district representative of the New York State Ophthalmological Society. He served two terms on the Cornea Clinical Committee of the American Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) and chaired the preoperative OSD algorithm project culminating in the publication of one of the most influential papers on the subject. 

Dr. Starr has been repeatedly honored as a “Best Doctor” by multiple organizations including New York Magazine, Castle Connolly America’s Top Doctors, Best Doctors in America, America’s Top Ophthalmologists, SuperDoctors, Premier Surgeon and many others. He serves on the editorial boards of several ophthalmic journals, is a spokesperson for the American Academy of Ophthalmology, is a medical correspondent for CBS This Morning and is frequently interviewed by print, television and online media outlets.